Okay, so I finally got to watch Extreme Couponing on TLC.

I kind of cheated a little and read other people’s thoughts on it before I watched, so I went into it expecting to agree with their opinions.

I was actually surprised by my responses.

Shocker.

I have a mind of my own.

And I think I might still be in the early stages of couponing madness, so I found myself in a different head space than the veterans.

Here were my initial thoughts:

1. How on earth is that woman shopping this intensely with a small child and not sucking her thumb and rocking in a corner?

2. Wait? How are they getting all that produce for that amount? Seriously, someone needs to tell me how. Now.

3. Why don’t I have a paper cutter?  I want a paper cutter!

And then when the dude (sorry, I’m super bad with names) got around $6,000 worth of stuff for about $200, I got a buzz. A bondafide buzz.

I could feel what he was feeling.

It made want to run around the block.

That said, here were my other thoughts.

1. I will not now, nor ever, get into a dumpster for coupons.  And especially not wearing my cutest jeans. I will draw the line at pillaging coffee shops.

2. I have no need for 40 jars of pasta sauce or 2,000 toothbrushes to be stashed in my house. One per mouth will be fine, thank you. Who has that many teeth to worry about?

3. Dudes. Share.

4. Dude shared!

My final assessment:

1. This new “hobby” relaxes me. It makes me feel like I’m doing everything in my power to make a difference in my family’s life and help us steward what we have, whether it’s a lot or a little.

2. I like the little rush I get watching those numbers subtract. Just being honest here.

3. I will always be the boss of my coupons. They have learned not to smart off.

4. Saving money is good. Losing my soul is not.

5. That last statement was far too dramatic.

6. Making lists is hard when you run out things to say.

7. I should stop right here.

I think you know what I’m saying.

Don’t be a total freak.

Just be slightly off your rocker.

And that should just about do it for today.

God Bless America.